Leave a comment

Got to Go Back, Back in Time

I like the idea of time travel.  I like the idea that dinosaurs once roamed the Earth. What I would not like is the idea of traveling back in time to visit the dinosaurs.  I have to leave that kind of adventure to a braver, more daring sort. Perhaps, like the characters in Greg Leitich Smith’s latest book, Chronal Engine.

In Chronal Engine, characters Max, his brother Kyle, and their friend Petra are forced to use their grandfather’s time machine to go back to the Cretaceous Period to save their kidnapped sister, Emma.  Unfortunately for them, the Cretaceous is covered in dinosaurs, and not just the sweet herbivores you meet in the Land Before Time movies.  These dinosaurs are fierce (even the herbivores), and the danger the kids face comes from all sides.  Soon, it’s not just a matter of rescuing Emma, they also need to save themselves.

Of course, this is only the beginning of the adventure, and really if you want to know more about the book, you shouldn’t just read it, you should come down on Saturday and let Greg tell you all about it.  And of course, since it’s a release party, we’ll also have cookies, and other food, and Greg will be signing.  You don’t want to miss it.  I know I won’t.

Event Details:
Time: Saturday, March 24 @ 2pm
Where: BookPeople
More info

About Madeline

I'm a general bookseller dedicated to the children's section of BookPeople. In my "spare" time, I'm the publisher/editor for my very own small press, Children's Brains are Yummy Books. Basically, I eat, sleep, and read kids' books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

