Leave a comment

Review: Hooray for Amanda & Her Alligator!

I’m a big Mo Willems fan.  I love the Pigeon books, and I spent hours one day creating the perfect staff selection for the Elephant & Piggie series of books.  So, like all of his fans, I was excited to learn that a new book would be coming out last month.  Introducing:

Hooray for Amanda & Her Alligator!
Written and Illustrated by Mo Willems

Told in 6 1/2 (very) short stories, Amanda and her alligator deal with separation anxiety, surprises, and new friends.  That’s quite a lot to pack into 72 delightfully illustrated pages.  Yet, somehow Mo does it, and he does it in a language that early readers should be able to sound out and read on their own.  Although not as simple as the wording in the elephant and piggie books, these books have a minimum number of sentences on a page.  In fact, I would say that these books would be perfect for children who can read Frog & Toad or Amelia Bedelia books on their own.

Here at BookPeople, we would recommend this book for ages 3 & up to be read to, and for ages 6 & up for independent reading.

Also, remember that (eek!) Mo Willems will be at the store TONIGHT (double eek!) signing copies of this great new book.  (Hey, tweens may have Justin Bieber, but I, middle-aged mother of a toddler that I am, have Mo Willems.)  He’ll be speaking at 6PM, and we’ll start giving out wristbands for the signing line around 5 PM.  I am so going to be there.

For more details on the event, click here.

About Madeline

I'm a general bookseller dedicated to the children's section of BookPeople. In my "spare" time, I'm the publisher/editor for my very own small press, Children's Brains are Yummy Books. Basically, I eat, sleep, and read kids' books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

