Leave a comment

Review: The Rise and Fall of Mount Majestic

The Rise & Fall of Mount Majestic
By Jennifer Trafton

Persimmony Smudge dreams of an exciting life filled with adventure.  Unfortunately, her life is entirely dull until the day she chases her hat as it blows off her head and a way from the path.  On that day she learns of a plot that might just threaten the very existence of her home, The Island at the Center of Everything.  Determined to save the day (and her island), Persimmony sets off to prove her island is in danger and to stop the activity that threatens it.

Well, that was an incredibly vague summary wasn’t it?

But that’s the thing about this book.  It’s hard to describe without giving something away, and part of the joy of reading it is all the new things you discover throughout — whether it’s characters, places, or a plot twist.  The book is a fun, enjoyable read with amusing characters.  I especially liked the … well, I can’t tell you.  I might give something away and ruin the fun of letting you discover for yourself.  In fact, if I were you, I’d read this book without reading anything else about it: not the jacket copy, another review, or even the info on the BookPeople page.  It’s just more fun that way.  You trust me, right?

I would recommend this for kids ages 9 & up.  It could be read to kids as young as 7, but I suspect the reading level might be more difficult for kids under 9.

 

About Madeline

I'm a general bookseller dedicated to the children's section of BookPeople. In my "spare" time, I'm the publisher/editor for my very own small press, Children's Brains are Yummy Books. Basically, I eat, sleep, and read kids' books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

