Leave a comment

Texas Book Festival — This Weekend!

This weekend the Texas State Capitol will be besieged on all sides by some of the most spectacular authors, readers, and books when the Texas Book Festival sets up on its grounds.

Official Poster -- Click on it for full size

Have I mentioned how excited I am?

It’s a whole weekend dedicated to books, books, and more books.  Even better, many (if not most) of the authors come by to sign BookPeople’s stock of their books, so you never know when you might bump into one of them.  You might come into the store to buy a picture book for your niece and end up bumping into Laurie Halse Anderson or Garcia & Stohl (of Beautiful Creatures fame) signing books in the amphitheater.  It’s a very cool time to be a book lover in Austin.

So, in an effort to help fellow children’s literature enthusiasts plan what to visit, I have compiled a complete (I hope) listing of all official children and teen events going on at the Texas Book Festival this weekend.  If you go to the Texas Book Festival website, you’ll find the full calendar of events.  However, I have consolidated (using their My Calendar feature) a complete break down of kid/teen events.  It’s five pages, so I can’t post it all here, but you can view the pdf.

After you look at the listing, please feel free to be just as overwhelmed as me.  There is just so much really good stuff to see.  Of course I’ll attend both sessions moderated by Topher Bradfield, our kid’s outreach coordinator here at BookPeople.  And I’ll go by the session moderated by PJ Hoover, one of the author’s my little micro publishing house publishes.  Those are both musts.  But after that it’s hard to decide.  There are so many authors I love either on or moderating panels.  I fear I may have to clone myself and just go to everything at once.

About Madeline

I'm a general bookseller dedicated to the children's section of BookPeople. In my "spare" time, I'm the publisher/editor for my very own small press, Children's Brains are Yummy Books. Basically, I eat, sleep, and read kids' books.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

