1 Comment

Review: Drizzle

The book this week is recommended to you by not just me, but also Meghan, the BookKids buyer here at BookPeople.  She loved this book and cannot recommend it enough.

In Drizzle, narrator Polly Peabody lives on a magical rhubarb farm where it rains every Monday at 1 PM exactly.  The rest of the area is in the dry Midwest, but the Peabodys always have rain.  Until one day they don’t.

And that’s just the beginning of their problems.

Without the rain, the rhubarb begins to die.  Polly’s brother Freddy gets ill.  And now Aunt Edith wants to sell the farm.  If the rain does not return, then the Peabodys might not have a choice.

Polly is determined to save the farm, but is there anything an 11 year old girl can do?

Meghan and I agree that this book is perfect for the people who loved Savvy and have been looking for something similar.  It has the same kind of feel to the book and style of writing.  Both books have a magical component to them although the magic is not as prominent in this book as it is in Savvy.  Also in both books, the main character really has to discover who she truly is and not rely on her preconceived notions of herself.

However, Drizzle is certainly it’s own novel.  The magic and plot and setting of the novel are distinctive and creative.  I like the world that Van Cleve creates for Polly to live in.  And despite Polly’s constant tears and assertions that she’s a coward, she actually is a strong female character that I think girls can identify with.

A good individual read for ages 8 & up, I would recommend this as a good bedtime book for parents to read a loud to their kids aged 7-12.  The book is broken up into many small sections that are the perfect size for before bed reading.

About Madeline

I'm a general bookseller dedicated to the children's section of BookPeople. In my "spare" time, I'm the publisher/editor for my very own small press, Children's Brains are Yummy Books. Basically, I eat, sleep, and read kids' books.

One comment on “Review: Drizzle

  1. I loved Drizzle! I bought it and read it in one day (and a half). It was definitely in my top 5 list of books. I hope the author writes more and makes it a series! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

