Leave a comment

More of your favorite authors share their favorite books for giving this season!

The days are ticking away, and you’ve still got a few people on your left to buy for, no? BookKids has the solution.  With the help of some of our – and your – favity fave authors, we’ll find the perfect gift for everyone on your holiday shopping list.  Check out suggestions from today’s features authors, Pam Bachorz, Lisa McMann, and Stacey Jay!

Pam Bachorz is the fabulous author of the smashing new book Candor, a Stepford-esque sci fi that will make your skin crawl and your brain explode (in a good way). If you haven’t read Candor yet, get thee to BookKids so I can put a copy in your hands. And check out the Candor website, which will tell you all about the benefits of living in this small town in Florida. In the mean time, Pam was lovely enough to let her in on her favorite books to give this holiday season.

Here is her gracious gift-giving advice:
I am buying James Dashner‘s Maze Runner for a certain omnivorous (adult) reader in my life. I want to persuade him to pick up more YA–there is so much outstanding YA out there that adults love. I know Maze Runner will keep him on the edge of his seat and it has enough intensity to keep any reader hooked.

I bought Harry BlissLuke on the Loose for the five year-old son of some hipster friends. This book is touted as a graphic novel for emergent readers, so it’s perfect for the kid who’s starting to read but still enjoys the support of pictures with a lot of narration in them. Plus it’s funny. And cool. I figure they’ll be feeding this kid a steady diet of graphic novels as he grows older, so why not get him started on the good path now?

Finally I’m picking up the first book in Suzanne CollinsGregor the Overlander series for an 11 year-old boy who’s a bit of reluctant reader… but only because I think he’s having a hard time finding something that speaks to him. I was gobbling up this series before The Hunger Games exploded. It’s packed with action, humor, and it’s very original. I figure he’ll cut his teeth on this and then discover The Hunger Games when he’s ready.

This year at the First Annual Austin Teen Book Festival, I had the pleasure of meeting Ms. Lisa McMann.  Her warm disposition made me fall in love with her all over again, since I already adored her after reading Wake, the first in her sci-fi trilogy. Lisa‘s books, including Fade and the highly anticipated Gone, are Austin favorites, so of course I was thrilled to have her on board with this holiday blog project.  I think BookKids Blog readers will be equally thrilled with what she has to share.

Lisa‘s Tips for readers of all ages:

I bought Billy Twitters and his Blue Whale Problem by Mac Barnett and Adam Rex for a five-year-old friend because it is a hilarious story about Billy Twitters who has a pet Blue Whale and has to take care of it. I chose this because all five year olds should giggle. A lot.

I’ll be picking up Fat Cat by Robin Brande for my 13-year-old daughter because she loved Robin‘s first book, Evolution, Me, and Other Freaks of Nature. Fat Cat is about a geeky overweight girl who does a months-long experiment for science class that involves her behaving just like the earliest humans — eating like they did, walking everywhere, no computer/phone/electronics — and there’s also some terrific boy/girl angst. Robin‘s books have strong female characters and I’m a big fan.

And I just bought Nailed by Patrick Jones for…me. Merry Christmas, me! Er, I mean, I bought it for my 16-year-old son. Yeah. It sounds really good — I love a good artistic/creative guy story full of angst; bullying and watching characters deal with that all-too-common high school problem. Having artistic kids myself, this book is sure to be relatable. For my son. (And me.)

Stacey Jay writes books about zombies.  Clearly, this is all the information you need to know that she is super freaking cool. Her Undead series has really taken off here in Austin, and I can’t recommend You Are So Undead to Me highly enough. Seriously, come pick it up – it’s like Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Evil Dead. Stacey agreed to help us out with our holiday shopping, and I think you’ll enjoy what she has to offer in the way of gift-giving advice

Here are Stacey‘s picks:

A Light in the Attic by Shel Silverstein is one of my favorite books to give. The poems are hilarious, gross, pertinent, and sometimes even a little heartbreaking (in the good way). I read this book again and again when I was a little girl and this year I’ll be giving it to a special eleven year old girl with a big imagination and an unholy love for fart jokes. (No matter how hilarious farts can be, I’m hoping the poems will help expand her idea of what’s funny.)

Gone by Michael Grant. This book disturbed me in a major way. I had a hard time getting through the first half because the descriptions of what happens when all the adults in this beach side town disappear were so graphic. That said, it was an excellent, haunting, thought-provoking read and I think a certain fifteen year old in my life will really enjoy it. (She has a higher tolerance for disturbing stuff than I do!)

Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich by Adam Rex. This is a picture book and one I haven’t read yet. My five-year-old son is a BIG fan of Pssst by Adam Rex and of all things monster, however, so I’m hoping he’ll enjoy it. He likes to read his Halloween picture books all year long…hmmm…wonder where he got that from? ;)

About EKA

E. Kristin Anderson grew up in Westbrook, Maine and is a graduate of Connecticut College. She has a fancy diploma that says “B.A. in Classics,” which makes her sound smart but has not helped her get any jobs in Ancient Rome. Once upon a time she worked for The New Yorker magazine, but she soon packed her bags and moved to Texas. Currently living in Austin, Texas, Kristin is an online editor at Hunger Mountain and a contributing editor at Found Poetry Review. Kristin is the co-editor of the DEAR TEEN ME anthology (Zest Books, 2012), based on the website of the same name. As a poet she has been published worldwide in many literary journals from the UK’s Fuselit, to Cordite in Australia to the US’ Post Road and the Cimarron Review. Recently she’s graced the pages of Asimov’s Science Fiction, and she has work forthcoming in teen magazine Cicada. Kristin is the author of two chapbooks of poetry: A GUIDE FOR THE PRACTICAL ABDUCTEE (Red Bird Chapbooks, 2014) and A JAB OF DEEP URGENCY (Finishing Line Press, 2014). She hand-wrote her first trunk book at sixteen. It was about the band Hanson and may or may not still be in a notebook at her parents’ house. She blogs at EKristinAnderson.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

