Leave a comment

What to Buy a Girlie-Girl Part I: Girlie Books for Teens

Some girls want to read about adventures on the high seas or dragon slayers or sports.  Some girls want to read about creepy ghosts or epic battles.  These kinds of books can be a lot of fun, but embracing your inner girlie-girl can be exciting, too.  The following books are perfect for the girlie teens on your holiday shopping list – from high fashion to fairies to cheerleading psychics, BookKids has you covered.

Violet on the Runway by Melissa Walker
Violet Greenfield has never felt pretty – she’s freakishly tall and considerably thin.  But when Violet is whisked away from her weekend job at her small-town movie theater to walk in  Fashion Week in New York City, she can’t be more thrilled!  The life of a model, however, is more than just glam photo shoots and pretty dresses, and it’s not long before Violet has to make a choice: stay true to herself, or become someone she doesn’t even know.  This book is perfect for fans of Gossip Girl drama, but Violet’s moral compass makes Melissa Walker’s series mom-friendly.  Grab the Violet trilogy for your favorite girlie girl!

Diary of a Chav by Grace Dent
Shiraz Bailey Wood (yes, named after the wine) isn’t quite a chav – a chav being a hip-hop loving working-class teen dressed in fake Burberry track suits with a penchant for getting into trouble.  No, she’d like to think there’s more to her life – one day she’ll be a reality TV star.  Though she hides her good grades from her friends and family, Shiraz thinks she might even pursue college.  But first she has to get things straigtened out – her best friend’s knob of a rapper boyfriend, her crazy mum, and her artsy sister all need serious help.  Reality TV might be the solution after all. This hysterical journal makes a great gift for Georgia Nicolson fans and Anglophiles – not only is it super-girlie, but it has something to say about social politics.  You can’t go wrong with Miss Shiraz!

Dead is the New Black by Marlene Perez
Part mystery, part horror, part teen drama, Marlene Perez’ new series will suck  you in (pun intended).  When a series of bizarre murders plagues the sleepy town of Nightshade, Daisy’s mom and sisters are on the case.  But Daisy, the one non-psychic in her family, has plans of her own – she infiltrates the cheer squad (who have recently – suspiciously! – taken on a goth wardrobe) to get the inside scoop.  Daisy’s insights  lead to a secret society and she soon realizes that even those closest to her cannot be trusted.  Dead is the New Black is a fun, breezy read – a gothic mystery for vampire fans and ghost stories alike.  If your favorite girlie girl likes her books a little on the dark side, pick this title up with its sequel, Dead is a State of Mind – they’re the perfect size for stocking stuffers!

How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier
In New Avalon, it’s generally accepted that most people have a fairy – a loose change fairy, or a clothes-shopping fairy for example.  You can’t see these fairies, but you know they’re there – Charlie knows this because she has a parking fairy, and has spent her life in cars.  She always gets a perfect parking spot.  But she hates cars, and can’t even drive yet since she’s only fourteen.  Determined to get rid of her parking fairy, she tries all the urban legends – carrots-only diet, not bathing, etc. – before it turns out that only her nemesis, Fiorenze can help her.  Fio has an all the boys like you fairy, and while Charlie thinks that’s pretty sweet, it turns out even the coolest fairy has its drawbacks.  I really, truly adore this book , and if you have a girlie girl teen (or pre-teen that reads older books), this would make a super-fun addition to her library.

Sweethearts by Sara Zarr
At nine, Jennifer and Cameron don’t fit in.  They are poor, and the only kids at school who aren’t Mormon.  Jennifer – or “Fattifer,” to her classmates – only has Cameron to keep her sane.  But one day he goes missing, and the mean kids at school tell her he’s dead.  Assuming the worst, Jennifer tries her best to move on.  At seventeen, however, Jennifer is now Jenna.  Her mom married a great guy, she’s grown into her body, she has new friends at her high school for gifted kids.  She even has a boyfriend.  Everything seems perfect in Jenna’s life until one day Cameron reappears and she has to confront the past she has tried so desperately to forget.  Fans of Sarah Dessen and Judy Blume will tear through this novel in one sitting, then read it all over again.

I’d Tell You I Love You but Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter
The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women trains girls like Cammie Morgan in every martial art imaginable.  Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and is well-versed in chemical warfare and computer hacking.  But when she finds herself sort-of involved with a regular boy (who thinks Cammie is a regular girl) she doesn’t have a clue what to do.   While she knows plenty of ways to spy on him, she doesn’t know how to date him without letting on that she isn’t who he thinks she is.  Fans of Maureen Johnson will appreciate the lighthearted humor of the Gallagher Girls books, and girlie girls who like a little action in their books will definitely enjoy spying this under the tree.

About these ads

About EKA

E. Kristin Anderson grew up in Westbrook, Maine and is a graduate of Connecticut College. She has a fancy diploma that says “B.A. in Classics,” which makes her sound smart but has not helped her get any jobs in Ancient Rome. Once upon a time she worked for The New Yorker magazine, but she soon packed her bags and moved to Texas. Currently living in Austin, Texas, Kristin is an online editor at Hunger Mountain and a contributing editor at Found Poetry Review. Kristin is the co-editor of the DEAR TEEN ME anthology (Zest Books, 2012), based on the website of the same name. As a poet she has been published worldwide in many literary journals from the UK’s Fuselit, to Cordite in Australia to the US’ Post Road and the Cimarron Review. Recently she’s graced the pages of Asimov’s Science Fiction, and she has work forthcoming in teen magazine Cicada. Kristin is the author of two chapbooks of poetry: A GUIDE FOR THE PRACTICAL ABDUCTEE (Red Bird Chapbooks, 2014) and A JAB OF DEEP URGENCY (Finishing Line Press, 2014). She hand-wrote her first trunk book at sixteen. It was about the band Hanson and may or may not still be in a notebook at her parents’ house. She blogs at EKristinAnderson.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

%d bloggers like this: